Archive

Archive for November 7, 2008

SunOS Rises Again, Better than Ever!

November 7, 2008 Leave a comment

After 15 months of bozos whacking away with power tools…

YAY!! And yes, my 2008 Hybrid Mercury Mariner has “Solaris” license plates. And yes, that is a 1975 Bricklin SV1 Gullwing in the background, and no, I haven’t touched it in 3 years, and yes, if you’d like to take it off my hands, I would entertain offers.

bill.

Categories: Geek

Back to the real world…

November 7, 2008 Leave a comment

I spent the past couple of months working on a project that had way too many lawyers involved. I didn’t want to blog about it, as dealing with lawyers and “content review” for everything I decided to write during the project would have made my head explode.

Now that the project is finished, and the intellectual property sharks are done reviewing and blessing things, I feel a bit more open about sharing my experiences. I did get to work with a a great geek who also happens to be an actor. I learned a ton about storage and cloud-like things using virtualization layers.

Since the project finished, I have been working with the xVM Server folks on the Early Access Program, details here and here.

I’ll throw some screen shots and info up soon. For now, I have a borrowed, single CPU, dual core, 8GB memory x2200 M2, sitting in a datacenter 1500 miles away to run my tests on. As of today, it is running the xVM Server software (EA2), with Solaris 10 update 6, a Solaris Express Community Edition release (Nevada 101a), Windows Server 2003 x64 Enterprise Edition, and Windows Server 2008 x64 Datacenter Edition. All on the same machine. All managed from a single desktop filled with console windows. My Windows Server guest systems even have remote console working, with decent performance to my desktop at home over VPN.

Yay!

bill.

Categories: Geek